Advanced Materials

Advanced materials are crucial in the human history. They have influenced large eras such as the Stone Age, the Bronze Age, and the Iron Age so intense that they became eponymous. In each of these epochs, mankind has experienced a great evolutionary step by developing new materials, technologies, and applications. This is still the case today: 70% of all innovations are based on new and further developments in the field of advanced materials.

North-Rhine Westphalia is a classic material country. With a focus on metals as well as modern, functionalized multi-material solutions, the NRW-material sector with more than 720,000 employees, over 200 billion euros in turnover and over 6,000 companies and research facilities is a key pillar of the economy and prosperity. In the country of the time-honoured steel smelting furnaces today, high-strength steels are being developed for light-weight applications, which enable important innovations in all markets. For example, the multitude of innovative materials that have been developed by the companies and research institutes in North Rhine-Westphalia in recent years has opened up new potentials for all lead markets and the entire field of the supplier industry.

An example for the influence of new materials on the lead markets is the information and communication industry in NRW: the speed in which mobile phones, computers and network architectures would be unthinkable without using advanced materials. In the life science sector, the vitality and quality of life of the people is significantly increased by various new developments. Resource conservation and environmental protection – the entire e-mobility revolutionizes the area of mobility and logistics, and is mainly based on new materials and techniques, which are used, for example, in lightweight construction and battery technology.

Over 720.000 employees, over 200 200 billion euros in turnover and over 6.000 companies and research facilities are connected to advanced materials in NRW.

Advanced Materials-research in North Rhine-Westphalia

The Ministry of Culture and Science of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia has created a competence map on materials research in NRW. The database provides an overview of the current research landscape and provides many contacts for all key markets along the entire value chain.

Click here to call up the map for materials research in NRW.

In addition, the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research has created the “Materialkarte: Forschung und Innovation”. To get to this map, please click here.

logo_corporate_branding
North Rhine-Westphalia occupies the top position in a nationwide comparison. Research focuses on the Aachen, Bochum and Paderborn areas, while entrepreneurial focus is on the Ruhr Metropolis (Bochum, Dortmund, Duisburg, Essen) and the Rhineland. As a result, North Rhine-Westphalia is one of the most important locations for advanced materials in Germany.
Brochures with further information:
    • Vom Material zur Innovation
    • Werkstoffinnovationen für Industrie und Gesellschaft

Werkstoffe und Materialien

Neue Materialien und Werkstoffe sind in der Entwicklungsgeschichte der Menschen ganz entscheidend. Sie haben große Zeiträume wie zum Beispiel die Steinzeit, die Bronzezeit, die Eisenzeit so weit beeinflusst, dass sie namensgebend wurden. In jedem dieser Zeitalter gab es einen großen Entwicklungsschub der Menschheit durch die Entwicklung neuer Materialien, Technologien und Anwendungsmöglichkeiten. Das ist bis heute so: 70 % aller Innovationen gehen auf Neu- und Weiterentwicklungen im Bereich der Werkstoffe zurück.

In NRW als klassischem Werkstoffland mit Schwerpunkten im Bereich der Metalle, aber auch modernen, funktionalisierten Multimaterial-Lösungen ist die Werkstoffbranche mit über 720.000 Beschäftigten, über 200 Milliarden Euro Umsatz und über 6.000 Unternehmen und Forschungseinrichtungen eine tragende Säule der Wirtschaft und des Wohlstands. Dabei gelingt es, kontinuierlich mit neuen Entwicklungen Schritt zu halten: Im Land der altehrwürdigen Stahl-Hochöfen werden heute hochfeste Stähle für Leichtbauanwendungen entwickelt, die in allen Märkten wichtige Innovationen überhaupt erst ermöglichen. So hat die Vielzahl innovativer Materialien, die in den letzten Jahren bei den Unternehmen und Forschungsinstituten in Nordrhein-Westfalen entwickelt wurden, neue Potenziale für sämtliche Leitmärkte und den gesamten Bereich der Zuliefererindustrie eröffnet.

Ein Beispiel für den Einfluss Neuer Werkstoffe auf die Leitmärkte ist die Informations- und Kommunikationswirtschaft in NRW – die Geschwindigkeit, mit sich allein Mobilfunktelefone, Computer und Netzwerkarchitekturen weiterentwickeln, wäre ohne neue Materialien undenkbar. Im Life Science Bereich wird durch verschiedenste neue Entwicklungen die Lebensqualität und Vitalität der Menschen deutlich erhöht. Ressourcenschonung und Umweltschutz – die gesamte E-Mobilität revolutioniert den Bereich der Mobilität und Logistik und basiert im Wesentlichen auf neuen Materialien und Techniken, die zum Beispiel in Leichtbaukonzepten und Batterietechnik zum Einsatz kommen.

Über 720.000 Beschäftigte, mehr als 200 Milliarden Euro Umsatz und über 6.000 Unternehmen und Forschungseinrichtungen sind in NRW mit neuen Werkstoffen verknüpft.

Damit belegt Nordrhein-Westfalen im bundesweiten Vergleich den Spitzenplatz. Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen im Raum Aachen, Bochum und Paderborn, während unternehmerische Schwerpunkte in der Metropole Ruhr (Bochum, Dortmund, Duisburg, Essen) und dem Rheinland zu finden sind. Damit gehört Nordrhein-Westfalen bundesweit zu den wichtigsten Standorten für die neuen Werkstoffe.

Finden Sie hier Broschüren mit weiterführenden Informationen zum Download:
    • Vom Material zur Innovation
    • Werkstoffinnovationen für Industrie und Gesellschaft
    • MatRessource - Materialien für eine ressourceneffiziente Industrie und Gesellschaft